DR. JOHANNA RICHTER

Born and grew up in Berlin in a bicultural family (Argentinian-German).


Magistra Artium in Comparative Literature, Latin American Studies and Cultural Studies at the Free University and the Humboldt University in Berlin, the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México in Mexico City and the Universidad de Buenos Aires, Argentina.
Student tutor for Latin American Studies at the Latin American Institute of the Free University of Berlin (2002–04), student scholarship of the German National Merit Foundation (1999–2004), German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) scholarship for a year studying abroad in Argentina (2001–02).


Ph.D. at the Institute for Romance Studies at Potsdam University with a production aesthetical-media historical dissertation on Transformations of the Novel in the Era of the Press using the Example of Serial Fiction from 1836-1881 in Paris and London.
Doctoral scholar of the German National Merit Foundation (2007-2010) and lecturer at the Peter Szondi Institute for Comparative Literature at the Free University of Berlin (2006–12).


As a post-doc member of the research team in the third party funded project “Argentinian Popular Culture” at the Ibero-American Institute of the Prussian Cultural Heritage Foundation in Berlin (2013–14), concerning Argentinian theatre and novel magazines from 1910–1940, and assistant at the chair for French and Spanish Literature at the Institute for Romance Studies, Potsdam University (2014–15).


Parallel to her academic career freelance work for literary agencies and publishers in Spain and Germany as well as freelance translation for Spanish>German. Between graduate and postgraduate studies, one year employment in Spain as rights manager and editor for foreign fiction at the literary publishing house Lengua de Trapo in Madrid.


Since March 2016 Deputy Director at the IFK in Vienna.

DR. JOHANNA RICHTER

Geboren in Berlin und dort bikulturell aufgewachsen (argentinisch-deutsch).


Magisterstudium der Allgemeinen und Vergleichenden Literaturwissenschaft, Lateinamerikanistik und Kulturwissenschaft an der Freien Universität und der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, der Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México in Mexiko-Stadt und der Universidad de Buenos Aires, Argentinien.
Während des Studiums Tutorin der Lateinamerikanistik am Lateinamerika-Institut der Freien Universität Berlin (2002–04), Stipendiatin der Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes (1999–2004), DAAD-Stipendium für ein Auslandsstudienjahr in Argentinien (2001–02).


Promotion am Institut für Romanistik der Universität Potsdam mit einer produktionsästhetisch-medienhistorischen Dissertation über Transformationen des Romans im Zeitalter der Presse am Beispiel von Literatur in Serienform von 1836-1881 in Paris und London.
Promotionsstipendiatin der Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes (2007-2010) und Lehrbeauftragte am Peter-Szondi-Institut für Allgemeine und Vergleichende Literaturwissenschaft der Freien Universität Berlin (2006–12).


Nach der Promotion wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin des Drittmittel-Projekts „Argentinische Populärkultur“ am Ibero-Amerikanischen Institut der Stiftung Preußischer Kulturbesitz in Berlin (2013–14) zu argentinischen Theater- und Romanzeitschriften von 1910–1940, sowie Assistentin am Lehrstuhl für französisch- und spanischsprachige Literaturen am Institut für Romanistik der Universität Potsdam (2014–15).


Neben der akademischen Laufbahn freie Arbeit für Literaturverlage und -agenturen in Spanien und Deutschland, u.a. als Gutachterin und Übersetzerin Spanisch>Deutsch. Zwischen Studium und Promotionsbeginn einjähriger beruflicher Aufenthalt in Spanien als Rights Manager und Lektorin für fremdsprachige Literatur beim Literaturverlag Lengua de Trapo in Madrid.


Seit März 2016 Stellvertretende Direktorin am IFK in Wien.